Heritage Assests


As well as its picturesque coastline, rural landscape and big skies, North Norfolk is known for its rich historic environment. The District's heritage is an intrinsic part of its character and stands as testament to how the area has been shaped and evolved over time.

This rich historic environment manifests itself in many forms and this is reflected in the number and variety of designations seen across the District. The NPPF introduced a collective term for these various designations which are known as 'heritage assets'. The following pages explore what these heritage assets are, why their protection is important and how they can be properly managed.

What is a Heritage Asset?

A heritage asset is defined by the NPPF as being:

‘A building, monument, site, place, area or landscape identified as having a degree of significance meriting consideration in planning decisions, because of its heritage interest. It includes  designated heritage assets and assets identified by the local planning authority (including local listing)’.

There are five primary categories of designated and non-designated heritage assets which can be found in North Norfolk, these include:

  • 86 Scheduled Monuments
  • 2,200 Listed Buildings
  • 33 Registered Parks and Gardens
  • 81 Conservation Areas
  • 200 Local Listings
'In determining applications, local planning authorities should require an applicant to describe the significance of any heritage assets effected, including any contribution made by their setting' (NPPF Para 189)

Last Reviewed: Thursday, August 30, 2018

Click here to give feedback on this page

Print this page